Skip to main content

Southern Litchfield County

Improving lives and our communities

Southern Litchfield County is also referred to as Greater New Milford and includes the towns of Bridgewater, Kent, New Milford, Roxbury, Sherman, Warren and Washington. The area is a blend of both suburban and rural communities that offer a quality of life considered to be among the most desirable in Connecticut. It is abound in natural beauty and shines as an environmental gem.


  • Consistent with rest of the state of Connecticut, residents in Southern Litchfield County contend with a high cost of living which greatly impacts all aspects of daily living: housing, childcare, food and transportation.
  • In New Milford, 25% of households are ALICE and struggling to afford basic needs.
  • Unemployment in New Milford is estimated at 11%.
  • In Litchfield County, 26% of homeowners fall at or below the ALICE threshold.

Our Work
United Way supports a number of initiatives to have the greatest impact on Southern Litchfield’s most pressing areas of need, to move one step closer to ensuring that every child enters school ready to learn, every family is financially stable and every community we serve is healthy and strong. Learn more about Our Work

Southern Litchfield Community Council
Our Community Councils represent each of our locales, focusing on local priorities and identifying community needs. We thank our dedicated volunteers who share their knowledge and time as members of our Southern Litchfield Community Council.

Cheryl Bakewell
Bakewell & Mulhare, LLC

Jennifer Birdseye
Webster Bank, NA

Barbara Dratch
Moots Pellegrini Law Firm

Evan Hack, MD
Candlewood Valley Pediatrics

Steven Liker
Trident - An ITW Company

Larry Neary
Bridgewater Community Volunteer

Alex Rafoss
Savings Bank of Danbury

Tammy Reardon
Town of New Milford

Katherine Webster-O'Keefe, Esq.
Law Office of Katherine Webster-O'Keefe

Amanda Wilson